Be the change you want to see in yourself

Inspirational thoughts, ideas, quotes, and articles.

From Broken To BlogHer — One Woman’s Journey Toward Hope

Posted by Catherine Morgan on May 1, 2007

I wanted to share with you my first post for Health and Wellness at BlogHer.org – I am now on post number three, you can see all my posts by clicking the Health & Wellness Link bellow.

Health & Wellness

Catherine Morgan's picture

By Catherine Morgan, 12:21 am, Wed 25 Apr 2007

Hi everyone, my name is Catherine, and I am going to be one of your contributing editors for Health and Wellness here at BlogHer. This is my first post as a contributing editor, so I thought I would take this time to tell you a bit about myself, and how I got here.

Less than a year ago, I didn’t have the ability to write or even read. Not because of a lack of education or ability, but because I was in the midst of a devastating medical problem that was steeling my memory from me. Picture someone in their late thirties, developing almost Alzheimer’s like symptoms….and doctors saying it was just “normal” forgetfulness.

The most obvious aspects of my memory problems were in not remembering people, conversations, or appointments. But, the worst part for me was not being able to remember anything I would read….because I love to read. And I’m not talking about forgetting by the next day…I mean within a moment of reading a sentence, I couldn’t remember what I had just read. Even reading the same few sentences over and over wouldn’t help…I can’t begin to describe to you my frustration.

In my everyday conversations both in person and on the phone, I couldn’t remember what I was talking about, even as I was saying it. I eventually found ways to compensate for my cognitive limitations….mostly by “pretending” I remembered what people were talking to me about, and avoiding situations that would make me feel stupid. At this point, I was already feeling bad about myself due to several chronic medical conditions (chronic fatigue syndrome, Fibromialgia, Asthma, heart and blood pressure problems), that prevented me from continuing my career as a nurse.

I kept telling myself that maybe once I started feeling a little better I could try my hand at writing. I always loved to write, so it seemed like it might be a good way to support myself without aggravating my medical problems. But, instead of getting better I just kept getting worse and worse, and writing is basically impossible if you can’t remember what you just wrote.

So, how did I get from “broken” to BlogHer? Well, that would be about a dozen trips to about a half dozen different doctors…and then the results of one blood test. Yup, one blood test showed my B12 level was almost non-existent, I had something called Pernicious Anemia….just another notch on my chronic illness belt. Believe it or not….I was actually happy to have the diagnosis, because there was a chance that with treatment I could get my memory back…and I did.

I then started blogging in an attempt to cultivate my writing skills and possibly find a way to make a career in writing. Most people told me I couldn’t do it. But….Aren’t those people just the best motivators in the world? And now I am doing something I never thought I would be able to do; remake myself, find my purpose, help others, and best of all…write. — continue to read article

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
